A Year Gone By

Good evening to all! I hope you all got out to enjoy the beautiful day! I believe Chris had a conversation with God and said, “This might be a tough week for my family. Do you think we could give them some sunshine to make it a little easier on them?” And God says, “but Chris, they do live in Minnesota and it is tournament time. I usually throw a blizzard at them at this time of year!” But Chris has always been persistant. ” How about this year you just switch things up a little bit. Let’s give them a week of 70 degree temperatures and give them a break! While we’re at it, how about an 80’s hair band reunion? Let’s have Poison, Whitesnake, Def Lepperd, Motley Crue,…….”
Well, at least I haven’t seen any ads for any Ratt, Winger or Warrent. But the nice weather has seemed to put everyone in a good mood.

I’ve gone back and forth on what to post this week. Yes, tomorrow is the first anniversary of the day Chris passed away. The past month has been difficult for us. Even though the boys don’t remember specific dates(other than the day he died), it’s amazing how their sub-conscious seemed to hone in on the time when Chris started taking a turn for the worse. Jaxson has been having horrible nightmares. Brenden has been clinging to me. Neither of the boys really wants to be alone at anytime. They’ve both been moody at times. We’re working through it and they are doing fine. I’m just happy for the good weather because we’ve been able to go outside and play basketball and soccer. It helps keep their minds off things.

The past year has obviously been a year of healing and adjustments. I’m amazed at how far we’ve come. At the same time, I still struggle with both. As I am going through the healing process, I battle the job of being a single parent. I’m sure sometimes Chris looks down from Heaven and just shakes his head. After he died, it seemed we were in shock for a long time. Our minds just didn’t seem to quite accept he was gone. I felt a sort of numb for a long time. I feel like it was about last September or October before the shock finally wore off. We’ve been on a grief rollercoaster since then. But with the grief and pain, we are healing.
We have had some wonderful times in the past year. Our family trip to Colorado the boys still talk about. They want to go back to the mountains. They had fun in Texas. Going up to the North Shore last fall and playing football with their uncles and hiking with their aunts was enjoyed by all. Doing a Baty waterpark getaway was a treat for them. We have kept them busy!
That being said, of course they miss their father. They still talk about playing good guys-bad guys with him. They talk about how he was so good at video games. They remember how much he liked to listen to music. It’s also hard now because of the things they are forgetting.
So, I’m ending this post as I’m getting tired and my sentence structure is surely suffering. Send up a “hello” to Chris, as I know we will all be thinking of him tomorrow. We miss him and send our love to him. The boys and I send up a hug and a kiss to him every night with our prayers.

God Bless to all!

Karen, Brenden & Jaxson

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “A Year Gone By

  1. Randy & Kelli

    Thanks Karen. We’ve been thinking about you guys and Chris more than normal the past weeks. We hope you make it through the day tomorrow and pray that you get some decent sleep!

    Wow, this is brutal, but we love you guys….

    R&K and kids

  2. Todd, Tricia, and Marissa

    I was just thinking about Chris yesterday, as I often do. I can’t count the number of times that I wished I could have picked up the phone to call him over that last year. I miss him everyday. Hope each day gets easier for you and the boys.

  3. Paula Pilrose

    I have been thinking of you more this week than usual. I pray for your healing – hopefully you’ll remember only happy times soon.
    I’ll send a “thank you” to Chris for this weather – it sure has been a blessing!
    Paula

  4. Jeannie G

    I can’t believe it’s been a year. It seems impossible. Chris, and you and the boys, have been on my mind a lot lately too. Love to all of you as you work through these milestones. I hope this is an easier year. The weather helps a little bit for now!

  5. Bethany Lempola

    Hi Karen,
    Just wanted you to know that you have all been in our thoughts and prayers- I will send up a “thank you” to Chris for his request for sunshine this week! Continue to “live strong” and know that God is with you.

  6. Val Hietala

    Hi Karen,
    You and the boys have been in my thoughts and prayers. The first anniversary is a real tough one. You are doing a great job as a ‘single mom’. It is no easy task.
    I was wondering who to thank for this beautiful weather. I should’ve known, Thank you Chris.
    Love and Hugs.

  7. Suzy Welch

    God bless you and the boys. Thinking of you all the time. Love that your doing all these fun things and remembering all the times with Chris. I pray things remain calm. The weather has been awesome. Marissa’s on spring break this week, I’m actually glad we didn’t plan to go anywhere, it’s been nice to just hang out, outside at home.

  8. Beth Gould

    I think about Chris very often. I have this particular shirt that he always commented on at work and how “the patten is so cool”. Every time I wear that shirt I think of him and smile. I think of you guys all the time and hope that you are continuing to heal. I am glad to know you and the boys are doing fun things. Much love to you, the boys and Chris…..

Leave a Reply

